Back to Sheriff
LINE

Records Division Fees
LINE
Report a Non-Emergency Incident
LINE
View a Criminal History
LINE
Request a Copy of a Report
LINE
Concealed Handgun License
LINE

Documents and Forms
LINE
Links
LINE
News and Events
LINE
Josephine County Sheriff's Office
1901 NE F Street
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone: (541) 474-5123 #3
Fax: (541) 474-5114
Email: 
Hours: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Concealed Handgun License

Applications for concealed handgun licenses are accepted in the Civil Division at the Josephine County Adult Jail located at 1901 NE F St, Grants Pass, OR 97526.
 
Concealed Handgun Permit Application (For New, Renewal & Transfer)

New applications and Transfers from another county are accepted on Monday ONLY from 9:00a.m-12:00p.m and 1:00p.m - 4:00p.m unless we are closed for a mandatory legal holiday.
Click Here for New Permit Instruction Walkthrough

Renewal applications are accepted on Tuesday ONLY from 9:00a.m-12:00p.m and 1:00p.m-4:00p.m.  If we have an abundance of customers lined up we may be required to cut off accepting additional people during those hours to ensure we can close on time

*If you currently have a CHL from another county but you have new residency with us, you are considered a "Transfer" and will need come in on a Monday. Please fill out  the Concealed Handgun Application Do not fill out change of Address form.

If you currently have a CHL with us, and you relocated somewhere else within the county, please fill out the Change of Address Form
Click Here to fill out and print Change of Address Form

*If you are transferring from a different county, you will need to come in on Monday.

An extensive criminal, civil and mental health background is conducted after your application is submitted. At the time you submit your application, we will photograph and fingerprint you and collect applicable fees.

  • Total Cost for New Application: $65.00
    • $50.00 CASH or money order to the Josephine County Sheriff's Office
    • $15.00 CHECK or money order payable to Oregon State Police (OSP) (for first time applicants only)
  • Total Cost for Transfers from another county with a license not expired: $30.00
    • $15.00 CASH or money order to the Josephine County Sheriff's Office
    • $15.00 CHECK or money order payable to Oregon State Police (OSP)
  • Total Cost for Transfers from another county with a license expired: $65.00
    • $50.00 CASH or money order to the Josephine County Sheriff's Office
    • $15.00 CHECK or money order payable to Oregon State Police (OSP)
  • Total Cost for Renewal Application: $50 CASH or money order
  • Total Cost for a replacement card (address/name change, lost etc) $15 cash

These fees are non-refundable and cover the cost of the background investigation and processing as required by law. Please provide a self-addressed stamped envelope for notification when your permit approval process is complete.

To qualify for a concealed handgun license you must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Be a US Citizen or have proof of application with the intent to become a citizen
  • Never have been convicted of a disqualifying crime of domestic violence
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in the last four years
  • Not be a registered sex offender
  • Not have been convicted of any drug related crime
  • Pay appropriate fees
  • Provide written documentation that demonstrates that you have taken a handgun safety course
  • Pass a background check

The Sheriff's Office does not endorse any specific instructors, however you can contact the Josephine County Sportsman's Park at (541) 476-2040 for a list of qualified instructors that offer handgun safety classes. Instructors will provide a certificate upon successful completion of the class that will suffice for competency in handgun safety.

Until further notice, we will no longer be able to accept out-of-state applications, we will renew out-of-state applications if processed before the expiration date.

When you apply, bring:

  • Your completed application
  • Two pieces of ID (one with a photo)
  • Proof of competency in handgun safety
  • Proof of citizenship if born in another country
  • Self-addressed stamped envelope
  • Required application fees
Concealed Handgun License Forms:  
Concealed Handgun License Hours:

New Applicants or Transfers from Another County: 
  
MONDAY ONLY 9:00 am- 12:00pm and 1:00pm-4:00pm

Renewals or Change of address: 
TUESDAY ONLY 9:00am -12:00pm and 1:00pm -4:00pm

Non-Criminal Fingerprinting Hours:
For employment or licensing
MONDAY ONLY 9:00am – 12:00pm and 1:00pm - 4:00pm

* The Civil Office closes on federal holidays and will reopen on the next business day*

More Articles...

Back to Sheriff

If you have questions regarding the site, please contact the webmaster.
Terms of Use | Built using Project A's Site-in-a-Box ©1998-2017 Version 5.12.7